When Immigration Matters

58 Countries Eligible for H-2A and H-2B Visa Programs

Posted by Karen-Lee Pollak on Wed, Feb 01, 2012 @ 4:25 PM
Department of Homeland SecurityThe Department of Homeland Security (DHS), in consultation with the Department of State, has identified 58 countries whose nationals are eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B Visa programs for the coming year. The notice listing eligible countries . Each country‚Äôs designation is valid for one year from the date of publication.

The H-2A Visa and H-2B Visa programs allow U.S. employers to bring foreign nationals to the United States to fill temporary agricultural jobs and temporary nonagricultural jobs, respectively. USCIS generally may only approve H-2A and H-2B petitions for nationals of countries the Secretary of Department of Homeland Security has designated as eligible to participate in the programs. USCIS may approve H-2A and H-2B petitions for nationals of countries not on the list if it is determined to be in the interest of the United States.

Effective Jan. 18, 2012, nationals of the following 58 countries are eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B programs: Argentina, Australia, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Kiribati, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, the Netherlands, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Samoa, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Tonga, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay and Vanuatu.

In addition to the 53 countries currently on the list, the following five countries were designated for the first time this year: Haiti, Iceland, Montenegro, Spain and Switzerland.

This new list does not immediately affect the status of beneficiaries who are currently in the United States in H-2A or H-2B status, unless they apply to change or extend their status.

H-2A Job Orders To Be Posted In National Electronic Job Registry

Posted by Karen Pollak on Wed, Jul 07, 2010 @ 1:42 PM

H-2A Temporary Agricultural Labor Certification Program | DOLAnnouncing the New National Electronic Job Registry for Use in the H-2A Temporary Agricultural Labor Certification Program. The National Electronic Job Registry (job registry) in which H-2A job orders will be posted and available to the public will be operational on July 8, 2010.

The regulations promulgated by the 2010 Final Rule include a requirement that all job orders filed in connection with H-2A applications be posted a national, publicly accessible electronic job registry available to U.S. workers. This will provide an unprecedented level of public access to one of the most frequently requested types of records maintained by the Department.

Posts by category